Geranium 55 Overproof Gin

The new Overproof Geranium

€29.95*

% €39.95* (25.03% saved)
Content: 0.7 Liter (€42.79* / 1 Liter)

Available, delivery time 1-3 days

Stock: 5
Product number: 1060
Product information "Geranium 55 Overproof Gin"
Geranium Gin has become one of the highest rated gins in the world and the darling among bartenders for its ability to create balance and sustain the flavours of the ingredients used in a cocktail. This year 2014 will be Geranium Gin's  5th year anniversary, and to celebrate this properly we have created Geranium Gin 55.

55% is the perfect alcohol strength to add more weight and enhance the pleasantness of the botanicals, and still retaining the smooth and well-balanced impression that signifies Geranium Gin. The fact that 55° is the latitude of my home adds an extra dimension to the making of this special edition of one of the world’s finest gins.

Geranium Gin 55 is to be used for those times when more intensity of the cocktail is needed and will be the perfect choice for a Dry Martini, G&T or Negroni and any other drink where a more powerfull gin has it's place.

Specifications
  • London Dry Gin at 55% ABV
  • Distilled from 100% pure grain spirit made of the best English wheat
  • Based on the original recipe for Geranium Gin and balanced to perfection
  • Fresh and dry botanicals: juniper, geranium, lemon, orange, coriander, cassia, orris, angelica, liquorice
  • Botanicals are matured for 48 hours and distilled in ‘Constance’, a 100 year old gin copper pot still
  • Proudly distilled by Master Distilller ‘Rob’ at Langley Distillers, a 200 year old family owned distillery
  • Active components in geranium: linalol, geraniol, geraniol formate, borneol, citronelol and rose oxide
  • Tasting notes: As smooth and well balanced as Geranium Gin 44% with more intense flavors and crispyness
Alcohol: 55% vol.
Lebensmittelunternehmer: Hammer & Son Ltd. PO Box 14 MA MRS 1000
Net filling quantity: 700ml
Ursprungsland: England
Verkehrsbezeichnung: Gin
Hammer & Son
I have been working with gin for many years, doing gin tastings and seminars and have been an accredited gin judge at international spirits competitions for four years. And after trying many hundreds of gins I found that the spectrum was pretty narrow (stereotype), although lately we've seen a lot of good new products with new and exciting botanicals. As such, I felt that creating a gin that would push the boundaries of the London gin label to the limit could be a challenge.
I've thought about geranium for a long time (the smell of the leaves is almost like a gin and tonic itself) and geranium has been used for centuries for medicinal purposes (for depression, fatigue and more) and by cooks for purification air in the kitchen and for seasoning dishes. So the history and uses were very similar to juniper and when we did the chemical analysis we found that the essential oils in geranium (geraniol, geraniol formate, linalol, rose oxide, citronelol) are present in most fruits, vegetables and spices were. and vice versa, along with the main components of gin (juniper, lemon, coriander, angelica), geranium is used in the therapeutic world. So, in theory, geranium paired well with gin and a variety of mixers that bartenders use today to create new and exciting cocktails.
The challenge now was to get the oils out of the geranium by distillation in alcohol (usually the oils are extracted by steam/vapor pressure) to end up with a London Gin. Luckily my father was a chemist who had worked with essential oils for the perfume and food industries for decades and we bought a 5 liter copper still and we set up a mini lab in his house and started experimenting with the plants. After a few weeks we figured out how to process, mature and distil the geranium to get the oils we needed.
My goal was to make an authentic London Dry Gin, so of course our gin should be made in England where the tradition, knowledge and equipment was there, so we spent some time with our English distiller and made the final recipe. And the recipe we made results in a gin that offers a different taste and flavor depending on the blender used, due to the abilities of the previously mentioned oils. (Kristian Kamp, the only Dane with a recipe in Gary Regan's Gin Compendium, calls it a chameleon).
All products from this manufacturer

0 of 0 reviews

Leave a review!

Share your experiences with other customers.

Geranium 55 Overproof Gin

Der neue Overproof Geranium

29,95 €*

% 39,95 €* (25.03% gespart)
Inhalt: 0.7 Liter (42,79 €* / 1 Liter)

Sofort verfügbar, Lieferzeit 1-3 Tage

Lagerbestand: 9
Produktnummer: 1060
Produktinformationen "Geranium 55 Overproof Gin"

Geranium Gin hat sich zu einem der best bewerteten Gins weltweit und dem Liebling zahlreicher Bartender entwickelt. Das verdankt Geranium Gin der hohen Mixbarkeit und der Tatsache, dass vorhandene Aromen in einem Cocktail erhalten bleiben. 2014 feiert Geranium Gin seinen 5. Geburtstag und um das zu feiern, kommt nun zusätzlich der Geranium 55 Overproof Gin auf den Markt.

55% ist die perfekte Alkoholstärke, um den schönen Aromen der Botanicals noch mehr Gewicht einzuräumen und dennoch die Harmonie und Balance, für die Geranium Gin so bekannt ist, zu erhalten. Außerdem liegt Kopenhagen (die Heimatstadt von Henrik Hammer) auf dem 55st. Breitengrad :-) Wenn das nicht ein guter Grund für diese Sonderedition einer der feinsten Gins der Welt ist!

Geranium Gin 55 wird speziell für die Cocktails empfohlen, bei denen es um intensive Aromen geht, außerdem macht er sich hervorragend in einem Dry Martini, G&T oder Negroni.

Alkoholgehalt: 55% vol.
Lebensmittelunternehmer: Hammer & Son Ltd. PO Box 14 MA MRS 1000
Nettofüllmenge: 700ml
Ursprungsland: England
Verkehrsbezeichnung: Gin
Hammer & Son
Ich arbeite seit vielen Jahren mit Gin, mache Gin-Tastings und -Seminare und arbeite seit vier Jahren als akkreditierter Gin-Juror bei internationalen Spirituosenwettbewerben. Und nachdem ich viele hundert Gins probiert hatte, stellte ich fest, dass das Spektrum ziemlich eng war (Stereotyp), auch wenn wir in letzter Zeit viele gute neue Produkte mit neuen und aufregenden Botanicals gesehen haben. Daher hatte ich das Gefühl, dass es eine Herausforderung sein könnte, einen Gin zu kreieren, der die Grenzen des Londoner Gin-Prädikats bis an die Grenzen ausreizt.
Ich habe lange über Geranium nachgedacht (der Geruch der Blätter ist fast wie ein Gin Tonic selbst) und Geranium wird seit Jahrhunderten zu Heilzwecken (gegen Depressionen, Müdigkeit und mehr) und von Köchen zur Reinigung verwendet Luft in der Küche und zum Würzen von Speisen. Die Geschichte und die Verwendung waren also dem Wacholder sehr ähnlich, und als wir die chemische Analyse durchführten, stellten wir fest, dass die wesentlichen Öle in Geranie (Geraniol, Geraniolformiat, Linalol, Rosenoxid, Citronelol) in den meisten Früchten, Gemüsen und Gewürzen vorhanden waren. und umgekehrt wird Geranie zusammen mit den Hauptbestandteilen von Gin (Wacholder, Zitrone, Koriander, Engelwurz) in der therapeutischen Welt verwendet. Geranium passte also theoretisch gut zu Gin und einer Vielzahl von Mixern, die Barkeeper heute verwenden, um neue und aufregende Cocktails zuzubereiten.
Die Herausforderung bestand nun darin, die Öle aus der Geranie durch Destillation in Alkohol (normalerweise werden die Öle durch Dampf/Dampfdruck extrahiert) herauszubekommen, um am Ende einen London Gin zu erhalten. Glücklicherweise war mein Vater Chemiker, der jahrzehntelang mit ätherischen Ölen für die Parfüm- und Lebensmittelindustrie gearbeitet hatte, und wir kauften eine 5-Liter-Kupferbrennblase, und wir richteten ein Minilabor in seinem Haus ein und begannen, mit den Pflanzen zu experimentieren. Nach ein paar Wochen fanden wir heraus, wie die Geranie verarbeitet, gereift und destilliert werden sollte, um die Öle herauszuholen, die wir brauchten.
Mein Ziel war es, einen authentischen London Dry Gin herzustellen, also sollte unser Gin natürlich in England hergestellt werden, wo die Tradition, das Wissen und die Ausrüstung vorhanden waren, also verbrachten wir einige Zeit mit unserem englischen Destillateur und machten das endgültige Rezept. Und das Rezept, das wir gemacht haben, ergibt einen Gin, der aufgrund der Fähigkeiten der zuvor erwähnten Öle je nach verwendetem Mixer einen anderen Geschmack und Geschmack bietet. (Kristian Kamp, der einzige Däne mit einem Rezept in Gary Regans Gin Compendium, nennt es ein Chamäleon).
Alle Produkte von diesem Hersteller

0 von 0 Bewertungen

Geben Sie eine Bewertung ab!

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen mit dem Produkt mit anderen Kunden.